Sage

Sage tokenomics connects trading fees with token buybacks and burns.

Sage tokenomics links SageSight's trading fees to SAGE buybacks and burns, while token holdings determine eligibility for lower agent fees. Paid platform use supplies revenue for the token mechanism. A buyback purchases SAGE; a burn permanently removes tokens from spendable supply. Wallet balance at the time of a trade governs the trading tier, so a previous balance does not preserve a discount after holdings fall below its requirement.

Updated on
In short: SAGE fee savings depend on trading activity, while the token balance held for a higher tier remains exposed to price changes.

Fee Revenue and the Buyback Budget

Paid agent activity creates revenue available to support SAGE token purchases, with the purchase budget depending on the funds collected and the share assigned to buybacks. Trading volume measures the value traded. Fee revenue measures the charges the service receives. Discounts change the relationship between those quantities, and referral payments introduce another recipient into the accounting. More trading activity can therefore coexist with a different average fee yield. Gross revenue alone does not identify the funds a particular purchase uses.

A buyback budget represents purchasing capacity. Only an executed purchase establishes how many tokens those funds acquire.


Wallet Balances and Trading Tiers

SageSight assigns trading tiers from the wallet's SAGE balance at the time of the trade. Its published structure names Basic, Pro, Elite, and Legend. Higher tiers reduce agent fees and change access to listed benefits. Holding requirements and action-specific charges belong to the applicable Tiers & Fees schedule; they are service parameters, not immutable token properties.

Tier Changes Before a Trade

Trading-tier eligibility follows the balance SageSight recognizes when the trade occurs. A session's displayed tier gives a starting state. A completed token transfer can change eligibility before the next trade, making the timing of the balance check relevant.

  1. Identify the SageSight wallet whose SAGE balance determines the tier.
  2. Match its recognized balance to the applicable holding requirement.
  3. Read the agent fee for the intended swap, leverage trade, or bridge.
  4. After a completed balance change, check the tier again before proceeding.
  5. If an outbound transfer drops holdings below the requirement, account for the lower tier's fee.

Maintaining the qualifying balance preserves eligibility under the published rule. Sending enough SAGE away changes the next trade's tier, even if an earlier session showed a higher level. The tier rule does not specify how long a token transfer takes.

What Does a SAGE Buyback Change?

A SAGE buyback acquires tokens with the funds assigned to that purchase, while the execution price and trading costs determine the quantity acquired and the completed purchase establishes the new owner. Permanent removal requires a burn. Funds committed to purchases, tokens acquired, and tokens removed describe different amounts and should retain their own units.

SageSight's fee revenue supports SAGE buybacks and burns. This funding relationship does not specify a universal purchase interval or establish the size of a completed burn. If purchased tokens remain spendable in a treasury, the purchase has not destroyed them. A combined buyback-and-burn mechanism needs an actual token purchase and permanent removal, although its implementation determines how those operations execute.


Allocations, Unlocks, and Spendable Supply

Token allocations describe the purposes or recipients assigned portions of supply, while release conditions govern when restricted tokens become available. Trading tiers classify holdings for service benefits. Their thresholds do not describe SAGE's allocation breakdown or establish the release status of a reserve.

Allocation Shares

SAGE's Ethereum token record reports a maximum total supply of 100 million tokens. The $SAGE Tokenomics document lists 70% for liquidity (LP), 10% for marketing, 10% for market user incentives, and 10% for the team. It describes a three-month lock for market user incentives and a one-year lock for the team allocation. These durations alone do not establish whether those allocations remain locked or have been withdrawn. Allocation percentages need a stated denominator. A share of total supply and an equal percentage of circulating supply represent different quantities. A designated reserve can also contain tokens subject to release restrictions. Its intended purpose, wallet balance, and spendability answer separate questions. Combining those figures without their definitions can count the same tokens twice or obscure holdings already included in a circulation estimate.

Graphic: Sage tokenomics: Allocations, Unlocks, and Spendable Supply

View image file

Release Conditions

An unlock makes a restricted allocation eligible for release under its terms. It does not establish a sale or automatically create new tokens. A scheduled date and an actual release describe different states. Burns can coexist with an increase in tokens available to trade when existing restricted holdings enter circulation. Comparing those movements requires matching periods and a consistent definition of circulating supply.


Fees Across SageSight Actions

SageSight separates swap or trade, leverage, and bridge agent fees, so a tier's charge belongs to the relevant action category. An equal holding requirement can accompany different charges for different services.

Agent Charges

Agent fees concern the SageSight service. Reduced fees give token holdings a cost-related use without turning the token balance into a payment of every trading charge. Any fee waiver listed for a tier concerns the agent's charge. It does not define the economics of every protocol the agent accesses.

Underlying Protocol Charges

SageSight's leverage fee category names GMX, whose own trading economics include position fees and execution costs. Borrowing charges can also depend on the position and market conditions. An agent discount and a protocol charge have different recipients and calculation rules. Market liquidity affects execution through another mechanism: the price achieved for the selected trade. Treating every difference in received value as an agent fee would mix these distinct cost inputs.


Referral Income and the Fee Pool

SageSight's referral arrangement directs a share of linked users' trading fees to the person who invited them, connecting rewards to qualifying activity. Referral income therefore has a recipient beyond the token-purchase mechanism. A full gross fee cannot simultaneously count as a referral payment and the buyback budget without accounting for each allocation. The applicable referral terms determine the payment share and eligibility. Token holdings also influence referral-code capacity, giving that balance an additional access-related role.

Holding SAGE alone does not earn referral fees.

Graphic: Sage tokenomics: Referral Income and the Fee Pool
Referral Income and the Fee Pool

View image file

Planned Utilities Beyond Trading Discounts

SAGE's November 2024 utility plan included Altar fee revenue sharing, reduced fees, premium advertising slots for agent creators, and governance participation. The plan presented these as intended uses. Revenue sharing concerns recipient payouts. Advertising slots concern visibility, and governance concerns decision rights. SageSight's trading discounts have their own published rules, so the status of an additional planned benefit does not determine the scope of that fee schedule.

A fee discount lowers a service charge. Revenue sharing would transfer value under its eligibility and payout rules, while premium placement would provide visibility under separate access conditions. Listing these uses together does not make their availability or conditions identical.

Governance would let holders participate in project decisions under the planned utility model. Its rules must establish how participants propose or approve changes. That role concerns control over the project, separate from receiving a referral payout or paying a reduced service charge.

Fee Savings Versus Holding Exposure

A higher trading tier offers service-fee savings whose size depends on the applicable charge and qualifying activity, while the required SAGE holding carries separate market exposure. Savings concern fees avoided. Holding exposure concerns changes in the value of the tokens retained. Compare fee savings and changes in the holding's value over the same period.

Buyback spending creates demand at execution, and burns remove spendable tokens. Neither mechanism determines the market's future valuation by itself.

Fee Savings Versus Holding Exposure (Sage tokenomics) - illustration

View image file

Using the applicable lower tier involves its service charges without requiring the additional balance for a higher tier. Maintaining a higher-tier balance adds exposure alongside potential fee savings. The relevant comparison includes the intended activity, the tokens held, and the remaining execution costs.

Sage tokenomics: quick answers

Do I Need to Stake SAGE for a SageSight Trading Discount?

SageSight's published trading-tier rule uses the wallet's SAGE balance at the time of the trade. It describes holding requirements for this benefit, without specifying a separate staking lockup. Any staking or revenue-sharing arrangement would have its own eligibility rules; trading-tier membership does not establish participation in those arrangements.

Does SAGE's Market Price Determine My Fee Tier?

SageSight's holding requirements use quantities of SAGE, so price movement alone does not change a wallet's token count. The holding's value can change while eligibility stays the same under unchanged tier rules. A dollar valuation therefore remains separate from the token balance used to determine the tier.

Will Additional Referral Codes Increase My Reward Rate?

Additional referral codes expand referral capacity without changing token rewards or contests under the published referral design. Holding requirements for extra codes concern how many invitations the user can distribute. They do not, by themselves, establish a higher payment percentage for each qualifying trade.

Are Governance Rights Part of SageSight Tier Membership?

SageSight tier membership and governance participation describe different benefits. The November 2024 SAGE plan included governance, while the trading-tier schedule governs agent access and fees. A tier label does not specify voting weight or proposal rights. Those powers depend on the applicable governance system and its participation rules.

Will a Protocol Buyback Remove SAGE From My Wallet?

A market buyback purchases tokens sellers offer; the purchase itself does not debit every SAGE holder's wallet. A subsequent burn affects the tokens the burn operation actually removes. Merely holding SAGE does not make your balance the inventory used for a buyback.